Jason Kottke, on regional seasons:

…the four “traditional” seasons of summer, autumn, winter, and spring are not universal and mainly only apply to the mid-latitudes. Other places on Earth observe different patterns. For starters, the polar year is split into light and dark while the tropics typically have a wet and a dry season.

Which reminded me of this helpful seasonal calendar for Wellington, New Zealand: